It has been a while since my last post but I have not forgotten about it. Life has been far more busy lately and to be honest I have felt little desire to write. Sad day, thankful that desire is starting to return.

Working in the social service field is rewarding, you see lives changed because someone reached out. It is easy to become comfortable in thinking that one is on the right track because we are helping people. Feeding the poor, helping the widows, befriending the friendless. WWJD right?

It is easy to mix ones views of social justice with ones views of soteriology. Social justice is important however it is not what saves. As disciples we are called to follow and imitate Christ which is where social justice comes in, however, the work of Christ that saves us involves him dying for our sins and that is not something we can replicate but only lead people to. The delicate balance is that we are called to do both together. We cannot forget those who are suffering even if they do not accept the work Jesus did for all, just as we cannot forget that we are called to preach the Gospel.

Psalm 95

Come, let us sing for joy to the Lord;
let us shout aloud to the Rock of our salvation.
Let us come before him with thanksgiving
and extol him with music and song.

For the Lord is the great God,
the great King above all gods.
In his hand are the depths of the earth,
and the mountain peaks belong to him.
The sea is his, for he made it,
and his hands formed the dry land.

Come, let us bow down in worship,
let us kneel before the Lord our Maker;
for he is our God
and we are the people of his pasture,
the flock under his care.

Today, if only you would hear his voice,
“Do not harden your hearts as you did at Meribah,
as you did that day at Massah in the wilderness,
where your ancestors tested me;
they tried me, though they had seen what I did.
For forty years I was angry with that generation;
I said, ‘They are a people whose hearts go astray,
and they have not known my ways.’
So I declared on oath in my anger,
‘They shall never enter my rest.’”

