Matt Maher – Letting Go

I’m holding onto Your love
I’m letting go of myself
I’m holding onto Your love
I’m letting go of myself
I’ll say so long to everything else

I just wanna be in Your arms
I just wanna be in Your arms
Moving ever closer to Your heart
To Your heart

This week I spent some time in the Epistle of Galatians. The beauty of this letter is in how Paul explains the law in relation to Christ. The freedom found in Christ is captured in the idea of resting in the arms of God and moving closer to his heart. The fruit of the spirit cannot be produced through our own works but through the transforming work of the Spirit in our lives. Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control are produced by a sanctified heart, a heart close to God’s. Self-help will lead to despair and utter hopelessness, but when one lives and walks by the Spirit one cannot help but be these things.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. Now those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit. Let us not become boastful, challenging one another, envying one another. (Galatians 5.22-26)

