I’ll love Thee in life, I will love Thee in death,
And praise Thee as long as Thou lendest me breath;
And say when the death dew lies cold on my brow,
If ever I loved Thee, my Jesus, ’tis now.

| William R. Featherston

Songs like this really make me evaluate my faith in Christ. Even in death will I turn to God? Will I be able to “stand firm” and be courageous? My Jesus, I Love Thee was written in the 1860’s by a 16-year-old who died around the age of 27. Another song Give Me Jesus says, “When I come to die, Give me Jesus”. Songs like these remind us that Christ is more than a quick fix for our worldly problems. They make us check ourselves and help to refocus us on the one that is in control of everything from the stars to the smallest atom. Even death cannot defeat God.

Paul tells us in 1 Corinthians 15:50-58:

I declare to you, brothers and sisters, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable.  Listen, I tell you a mystery: We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed —  in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed. For the perishable must clothe itself with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality. When the perishable has been clothed with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality, then the saying that is written will come true: “Death has been swallowed up in victory.”
“Where, O death, is your victory?
Where, O death, is your sting?”
The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.
Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.

Our own efforts will end in death, but death is not the end for those that believe, for Christ conquered the grave and “we will be changed”.

Even in death will you find hope and joy in the works of the Lord?

