You are probably thinking that I am a couple of weeks behind? However, I have a reason for being intentional about remembering the resurrection today. Two weeks tends to be the point where the what ever stirred in us on Easter will fade into the distance, but if we forget there is no real point to Easter or Christmas.

Will you forget what the Christ did for all on that day 2000 years ago?

Something that has really been hitting me since Easter is that Christ was not that meek and mild caricature we like to paint Jesus as. The “I Am”  statements Jesus makes, the “you have heard it… but I say…” statements, forgiving people’s sins, these are all direct attacks on the established order of the way things were traditionally passed down from the time of Moses and the burning bush.

Christ did not just throw in the towel and give up his spirit out from being overpowered or pacifistic. As the pure spotless lamb Jesus chose to give up his spirit to pay the price for my sin. He rose from the dead crushing Satan’s hold on the world. Restoring my relationship with the Father and tearing down the veil between us. It was costly, it was messy, and it was bloody! Everyday is Easter Sunday and everyday the glory goes to his mighty saving work so that none shall be lost. My soul finds comfort and joy in that even when the things of this world are against me.

Don’t Forget What Christ Did For You!


How Deep The Father’s Love For Us

How deep the Father’s love for us,

How vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son
To make a wretch His treasure

How great the pain of searing loss,
The Father turns His face away
As wounds which mar the chosen One,
Bring many sons to glory

Behold the Man upon a cross,
My sin upon His shoulders
Ashamed I hear my mocking voice,
Call out among the scoffers

It was my sin that left Him there
Until it was accomplished
His dying breath has brought me life
I know that it is finished

I will not boast in anything
No gifts, no power, no wisdom
But I will boast in Jesus Christ
His death and resurrection

Why should I gain from His reward?
I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart
His wounds have paid my ransom

