A few weeks ago I posted a video by Matt Chandler called David, Goliath, & the gospel where he looks at how we view the champion and who fulfills that role. Just the other day I was listening to Matt Maher’s CD. The song You Were On The Cross reminded me of that post especially where he says “And where were You when all that I’ve hoped for, where were you when all that I’ve dreamed, came crashing down in shambles around me?” He goes on to answer that question that Christ was on the cross. The song paints a dramatic picture of what happens to us when we place ourselves in the champions position. For we cannot go where he was going and Romans 3.23 tells us why “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God”. In John 8 Jesus draws the line in the sand and identifies his divinity. He shows what is different between us and him.

via the Blog Doing Life Together

When our dreams come crashing down where do we turn? Do we turn to blame God for we thought we were on the right path or do we fall on God to carry us through? This depends on how we view our role and God’s role in fulfilling the good work of the Gospel. If we see ourselves as David the great champion our shortcomings will lead to our destruction, but if we see our champion as Christ, alone on that rugged wooden cross, he will bring us out of our brokenness and into the light of His glory.

Where were You when sin stole my innocence?
Where were You when I was ashamed?
Hiding in a life, I wish, I never made
 
You were on the cross, my God, my God, all along, all along
You were on the cross, You died for us, all along, all along
You were on the cross, victorious, all along, all along
 
You were there in all of my suffering
And You were there in doubt and in fear
I’m waiting on the dawn to reappear

Are you trying to be David or can you let Christ be your champion?

