Salvation by Tina Umbach 2004

Christina Umbach / Salvation / 2004 / Acrylic on Canvas

Today I sinned! Believe it or not it is true. I sinned yesterday as well and I will sin again tomorrow as long as Christ does not return. My salvation has been bought yet my sanctification is in process. I struggle with the now but not yet. The evil that I stand against is at war not only in front of me but also in me. It tries to pull me down so I will be ashamed, judgmental, proud. Christ is victor, not me. When we realize that the Father finds our repentance more joyous than for 99 righteous who do not need to (Luke 15).

Today I must pick up my cross and follow him which means I must die to self. Dying to self means that I must fight against the things that separate me from my Father. 1 Thess. 4:2-8  says, “It is God’s will that you should be sanctified: that you should avoid sexual immorality;  that each of you should learn to control your own body in a way that is holy and honorable,  not in passionate lust like the pagans, who do not know God;  and that in this matter no one should wrong or take advantage of a brother or sister. The Lord will punish all those who commit such sins, as we told you and warned you before.  For God did not call us to be impure, but to live a holy life. Therefore, anyone who rejects this instruction does not reject a human being but God, the very God who gives you his Holy Spirit.” My sins may involve this world but the underlying root is the rejection of God. To die for a cause we must understand the cause. To throw off our old self and embrace the new creation we must understand what  is good with the new and bad with the old.

Christ told us what is good. Luke18.17-18 “A certain ruler asked him, “Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?”   “Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered. “No one is good—except God alone.” God alone is good (see also Romans 3.12). If we truly want to make a difference in this world we must embrace what is good. “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.” Romans 12.21. Anything less glorifies the created instead of glorifying the creator and therefore rebels against the creator (sin). Today I sinned! Don’t look at me, look at the one I lean on, for tomorrow I will sin again.

Casting Crowns – At Your Feet

Here at Your feet I lay my past down
My wanderings, all my mistakes down
And I am free

Here at Your feet I lay this day down
Not in my strength but in Yours I’ve found
All I need, You’re all I need

Here at Your feet I lay my future down
All of my dreams I give to You now
And I find peace, I find peace

Here at Your feet I lay my life down
For You my King, You’re all I want now
And my soul sings

Jesus, Jesus, at Your feet
Oh, to dwell and never leave
Jesus, Jesus, at Your feet
There is nowhere else for me
There is nowhere else for me

