BibleGateway.com verse of  the day: “What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul?” Mark 8:36 NIV

This echoes the wisdom of King Solomon when he wrote

I, the Teacher, was king over Israel in Jerusalem. I applied my mind to study and to explore by wisdom all that is done under the heavens. What a heavy burden God has laid on mankind! I have seen all the things that are done under the sun; all of them are meaningless, a chasing after the wind.

What is crooked cannot be straightened; 
   what is lacking cannot be counted.

I said to myself, “Look, I have increased in wisdom more than anyone who has ruled over Jerusalem before me; I have experienced much of wisdom and knowledge.” Then I applied myself to the understanding of wisdom, and also of madness and folly, but I learned that this, too, is a chasing after the wind.

For with much wisdom comes much sorrow; 
   the more knowledge, the more grief.

Ecclesiastes 1.12-18

We often sell ourselves short of the true reason why Christ came. Ecclesiastes leads us down the path that all things of this world are meaningless but there is a reason for hope! Thankfully God is not of this world He is the creator of this world and through him we can find purpose and meaning. Whether you are looking at the God of the Old Testament or New Testament you find that He is the same and that nothing means anything useless you involve Him in your work. We do not serve a God who wants to make us comfortable. We serve a God that states that “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me” (Luke 9.23). Simply put “What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul?” Thankfully Christ is the only way to correcting our broken relationship with the Creator of everything. Christ is the one who gives meaning to everything since “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind” (John 1.1-4).

